When it comes to East Indian food, we would normally go out to a fancy restaurant and make it an evening night out.  But once you have kids, dinning out seems to be a limited option, so we try take out instead.

In our nearby neighborhood, there was a new restaurant that features authentic north and south East Indian cuisine.  It’s called Raj Palace located in the Northwest area in Calgary.  For just my husband and myself, we ordered a Dinner for 2 for take out. For about $25, you get the following items:

  • 2 vegetable samosas
  • 2 naans and 1 rice
  • 1 vegetable curry
  • 1 meat curry
  • 1 dessert
Not bad for two people on an evening night “in”.  I believe they make their food fresh since they told us it will take about 25 minutes for the food to be ready for pick up.  The 2 samosas were good sized and were jam packed with mashed potatoes with a blast of spices and peas infused into each bite.  The shell was the perfect crunch and not too crispy.  The naan came wrapped up in a tin foil.  They were good portions but a bit soggy.  I guess that’s what you expect from take-out.  The rice comes in a medium container as seen in the picture.
Fruity/Vegetable in creamy sauce
For the vegetable dish, the person who took our order suggested the Navrattan Korma.  The menu described it as a most unique combination of mixed fresh vegetables, dried fruit, and roasted nuts in a creamy sauce.  At first I wasn’t sure what to think of it since the name itself doesn’t give me a clue what the dish will taste like.  As I scoop up the sauce onto the rice, you can see there were quite a generous portion of vegetables/fruits mixed into this dish.  The creamy sauce wasn’t my favorite.  Then again, I am a bit bias since I am not a big fan of anything that has creamy white sauce.  I tried the first bite of this dish and I tasted a pineapple.  The second bite I tasted apple, and they tasted fresh as opposed to dried fruit.  At times, the sweetness of the fruits overpower the creamy sauce which made this dish as an overall tasted good.  Next few bites I had tasted fresh grapes, zucchini, and was that cheese?  It is almost like an adventure in each scoop of Navrattan Korma that you don’t know what fruit or vegetable that you are going to bite into.

Navrattan Korma (Vegetable Dish)

Lamb Curry

When we ordered the meat dish, we wanted a lamb dish so we decided on lamb curry (with very mild curry).  Even though we emphasized ‘Mild’ a couple of times over the phone, when we took a first sample into the curry, it was spicy!  The good news is that after the first couple of taste, the spicy was gone afterwards.  Yes, I am a wimp for spiciness, but it was good curry.  Normally, East Indian restaurant gives you lots of sauce and little meat in their servings, but in this take out container, there were lots of lamb meat chucks!  and they were good sized chucks too!  So we were not disappointed in their serving sizes.  Later we found out that Lamb curry wasn’t even on their menu, but they still accommodated our request.

Lamb Curry (Meat Dish)

Desserts
Last of all, we were left with desserts.  We saw the container with two egg shaped looking item soaked in this sugary syrupy mixture that we had no idea what is was.  Looking up at the internet, we found it was called Gulab Jamun.  A popular East Indian dessert which mixes milk and flour and have them rolled into a ball.  It then gets deep fried and served in a syrup concoction.  With my sweet tooth awaiting, I couldn’t resist but to dive right into it.  The Gulab Jamun was spongy so it soaked up the syrup quite well.  And as I take a bite into the sponginess, flavors of sweet ginger syrup filled my palate.  I was so happy as it was something new and I like it!

Closing Comments

Overall, I will give this take out experience a 4 out of 5.  The food is good and the portions are very generous.  The only thing I would like more is if they give us more rice since we found ourselves left with a lot of curry but not enough rice to go with it.  The naan could be a bit crunchier. I may not get the vegetable dish again since I am not a big fan for a creamy sauce, but for sure I will go back and try out their other dishes!

Raj Palace (North West) on Urbanspoon

